A legal blog writing contest held by eLawyer.com.my open to all with cash prizes to be won. The contest is supported by the Law Society (University Malaya), the UK Malaysian Law Student Union, the Law Student’s Union (International Islamic University Malaysia), the Law & Commerce Society (Management & Science University Law Society) and the Law Society (National University Malaysia, UKM).

The recent political tsunami in our country has yielded many changes for us, the rakyat. We have seen the emergence of a dual-party system (well, almost), where a bigger and tougher opposition shares the limelight with the ruling party. We have seen giant-killers and the almighty falls of ministers. We have seen the weakening of racial politics and the strengthening of democracy.

For the legal community, the change came in the form of Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, the new de facto law minister. Hailed as “the most promising appointment” in the new cabinet by The Economist (Shuffling deckchairs, 19 March 2008), he has so far lived up to the name. From forcing the government to apologize for the 1988 judicial crisis (a huge leap, that one), the introduction of the Common Bar Examination, to his staunch support for establishment of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Video Clip – Datuk Zaid is here to stay.

Thus, eLawyer, as your local legal community portal, would like to hear your views and concerns regarding some of the issues currently affecting the legal community and the country, as a whole.

We would like to invite all lawyers, law students and bloggers to participate in our blog writing competition, which features some ‘hot’ topics right now:

1) Towards an independent judiciary in Malaysia

2) Common Bar Exams: The creation of a new problem or a solution for an old one?

3) Welcome CheDet.com: the impact of Tun Mahathir’s blog

4) Anti-party Hopping Law- Agree or Disagree?

Choose EITHER ONE of the above topics, give your two-cents worth in not more than 1,000 words and you stand to win up to RM 500 cash! Successful entries will be featured in an exclusive section on eLawyer’s website.


Grand prize RM 500
1st Runner-up RM 200
2nd Runner-up RM 100
10 Consolation prizes eLawyer merchandise

Panel of Judges

1. Dr Azmi Sharom – an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law, University of Malaya. Apart from teaching, he is also a column writer for The Star newspaper. He is well known for his brave and critical view on various issues regarding the democracy and constitutional law in Malaysia.

2. Lee Shih – a practising lawyer and a member of the KL Bar Committee. He chairs the Publications Committee and serves as Deputy Chair of the IT Committee. He tries to blog regularly, despite his hectic schedule.

3. Fahri Azzat – a practising in Azzat & Izzat. He served as a member of the IT Committee under KL Bar Committee. Fahri is a blogger and is also the founder of an online egroup forum – “The Rostrum” – meant for legal professionals to discuss issues concerning the legal industry.

Terms & Conditions

1. This competition is only open to eLawyer members. For non-members who wish to participate, sign up as a Basic Member for FREE at www.elawyer.com.my.

2. Entries should be submitted via email to [email protected] by 12 pm on or before 30 November 2008. Late entries will be automatically disqualified.

3. Format for essay entry:

a. E-mail ‘Subject line’: eLawyer Legal Blog Writing Contest 2008

b. Document body : write your contact details (full name, address, e-mail address, phone number and occupation), followed by essay topic and essay

c. Essay should not exceed 1000 words

4. Winners will be contacted via email/telephone and their names will be published at www.eLawyer.com.my.

5. The organizer reserves the right to display/publish/use any submitted entries in any way it deems fit and to amend the terms and conditions of this contest at the organizer’s absolute discretion.

6. The judges’ decision is final. No inquiries/appeals will be entertained.

7. Any other questions regarding this contest, you may contact elawyer at 03-2782 5399 or email to [email protected].